08 Feb Nipika – a History: The Cabins
2013 – The Bill Yearling Cabin was completed to become our very special studio suite. The cabin, originally built in 1920 by Bill Yearling was renovated into a beautiful studio with full bathroom & kitchen, a large wrap-a-round deck, and custom home built furnishings, truely a cozy and unique place to spend the night. If only walls could talk!
2010 – extensive trail improvements continued at Nipika and on the surrounding Cross River Canyon Recreation Site to improve the xc skiing and expand the single track hiking & mountain biking trails. We now boast over 50 kms of cross country ski trails groomed for both classic & skate skiing & 50 more kms of single track trails for biking, hiking and running.
2009 – work continued on enhancing the wildlife and recreational values of Nipika and the Cross River Canyon Recreation Site which Nipika manages in partnership with the province of British Columbia. One of the premiere single track trail systems in the province of B.C. was created for mountain bikers, trail runners and hikers. The whole area has been legislated as a developed, non-motorized recreation site in which the discharging of any firearms is prohibited year round.
2008 – The Bergeron Cabin is completed just in time for Christmas. This new guest cabin increases the meadow’s capacity to 65 overnight guests.
2004 – the Tegart & Richter Cabins were completed, with the Tegart Cabin being the first complete wheelchair accessible unit. Extensive horse facilities have been added at the Nipika Day Lodge: stalls, training pen, pasture and tack facilities to serve horse owners. We now offer “Board N Bale” holidays for horse owners wishing to enjoy trail-riding holidays in the heart of the Canadian Rockies.
2002 – Was a busy year on the meadow… three hand-built dovetail notched log cabins – Kootenai, Cross, and Palliser were completed, adding 26 more beds. This raises the meadow capacity to 44 beds. Sauna/Hot Tub facility was added by the pond. Additional single track bike trails developed and marked. Ski trails widened for better skate skiing. On the far side of the Cross River the first hill was improved by widening to the access to the trails. Finally, a micro-hydro system was installed… whew, busy year!
2001 – Completed construction of the classic dovetail notch log Coach House workshop & 2 bedroom loft. Solar power was upgraded (again) and a new well was drilled with a water reservoir providing water for all the buildings. The pond completed and filled and the Nipika/Natural Bridge Trails saw substantial expansion and improvements.
2000 – Solar power generation was upgraded with more capacity and a propane-powered back up generator.
1998 – Nipika opens the Rocky Mountain Cabin for business.
1997 – Nipika was awarded a woodlot licence by BC Forest Service and became the official manager of 1,000 acres of Crown Land surrounding the 144 acres of privately titled land on the home property. The woodlot is being selectively horse logged to minimize the environmental impact of logging on the forest ecosystems.
1997 – Nipika’s beautiful timberframe Rocky Mountain Cabin was built with a state of the art solar electrical power system.
1980 – Remains of old barn and outbuildings were cleaned up and Yearling cabin was refurbished.
c.1970 – Yearling cabin fell into disrepair and was used by private outfitters during hunting season.
c.1930 – Frank Richter enlarged the “Yearling Cabin” and built corrals and a large barn.
c.1920 – Bill Yearling cabin was constructed.
2018 Adventure Camp Brochure
Subscribe to get our
2018 Adventure Camp Brochure.